BSFA Award winners

The BSFA awards are voted on by BSFA members and, more recently, members of the British science fiction convention, Eastercon. Their aim, according to the BSFA website, is to “seek to honour the most worthy examples in each category, but also to promote the genre of science fiction, and get people reading, talking about, and enjoying all that contemporary science fiction has to offer.”

To qualify, the work must have been released in 2022.

Best Novel (defined as a work greater than 40,000 words)

  • Winner: City of Last Chances by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • Stars and Bones by Gareth Powell
  • The Coral Bones by E.J. Swift
  • The Red Scholar’s Wake by Aliette de Bodard
  • The This by Adam Roberts

Best Short Fiction (defined as work less than 40,000 words)

  • “A Moment of Zugzwang” by Neil Williiamson
  • Luca by Or Luca
  • Winner: Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances by Aliette de Bodard
  • Ogres by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • “Seller’s Remorse” by Rick Danforth

Venessa Armstrong, for details of all awards