Subjective Chaos

The Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards has been running since 2018. Created by a group of enthusiastic and dedicated science fiction, fantasy, horror, and speculative fiction readers, it celebrates the best in genre fiction every year, while acknowledging the subjectivity of our choices. Any traditionally published work may be nominated, but the Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards aim to look beyond bestsellers and major publishers to champion titles written by marginalised authors and/or published by independent presses.

The nominees for 2022


Lucy Holland, Sistersong
Khadija Abdalla Bajaber, The House of Rust
Tasha Suri, The Jasmine Throne
C.L. Clark, The Unbroken
Zoraida Córdova, The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina
Shelley Parker-Chan, She Who Became the Sun
A.C. Wise, Wendy, Darling
Laure Eve, Blackheart Knights
P. Djèlí Clark, A Master of Djinn

Science Fiction

Tade Thompson, Far from the Light of Heaven
Calvin Kalsuke, Several People are Typing
Nicole Kornher-Stace, Firebreak
Claire North, Notes from the Burning Age
Catriona Silvey, Meet Me in Another Life
Adrian Tchaikovsky, Shards of Earth
Brent A. Harris, Alyx: An AI’s Guide to Love and Murder
Benjamin Rosenbaum, The Unravelling
Arkady Martine, A Desolation Called Peace

More Categories at

The finalists will be selected in July and winners announced in September (chaos notwithstanding).