Locus Awards 2021

Last weekend, Locus Magazine announced the winners of the 2021 Locus Awards during the virtual Locus Awards Weekend. Author Connie Willis served as MC for the awards ceremony, which you can watch online here.

The list of best SF and Fantasy novels is below. Congratulations to all! Full details of all categories at


  • WINNER: Network Effect, Martha Wells (Tordotcom Publishing)
  • Machine, Elizabeth Bear (Saga Press; Gollancz)
  • Attack Surface, Cory Doctorow (Tor Books; Ad Astra)
  • Unconquerable Sun, Kate Elliott (Tor Books)
  • Agency, William Gibson (Berkley; Viking UK)
  • The Relentless Moon, Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor Books; Solaris)
  • War of the Maps, Paul McAuley (Gollancz)
  • The Ministry for the Future, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US & UK)
  • The Last Emperox, John Scalzi (Tor Books; Tor UK)
  • Interlibrary Loan, Gene Wolfe (Tor Books)


  • WINNER: The City We Became, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US & UK)
  • The Trouble with Peace, Joe Abercrombie (Orbit US; Gollancz)
  • The Angel of the Crows, Katherine Addison (Tor Books; Solaris)
  • Piranesi, Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury US & UK)
  • The Once and Future Witches, Alix E. Harrow (Redhook; Orbit)
  • Harrow the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir (Tordotcom Publishing)
  • The Left-Handed Booksellers of London, Garth Nix (Katherine Tegen Books; Allen & Unwin; Gollancz)
  • The Midnight Bargain, C.L. Polk (Erewhon)
  • Black Sun, Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga Press; Solaris)
  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V.E. Schwab (Tor Books; Titan UK)